Enom Phishing Attempt
Heads up folks – got a phishing attempt masqarading as Enom of all places. Its well done – and while the servers used in the one I got are down, I’m sure it fooled some folks.
Received: (qmail 26566 invoked from network); 29 Oct 2008 02:08:45 -0500
Received: from unknown (HELO ?91.150.135.130?) (91.150.135.130)
by (my email server) with SMTP; 29 Oct 2008 02:08:44 -0500
Received: from [91.150.135.130] by mailin1.rmx.de; Wed, 29 Oct 2008 08:08:43 +0100
From: "eNom Support Team" <info@enom.com>
To: <me - masking email address>
Subject: Inaccurate whois information. [IncidentID:85935]
Date: Wed, 29 Oct 2008 08:08:43 +0100
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0006_01C9399D.8F395E00"
X-Mailer: Microsoft Office Outlook, Build 11.0.5510
Thread-Index: Aca6Q35VOOTMMHCGTI62K95QL4E11F==
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2905
Message-ID: <01c9399d$8f395e00$8287965b@tmnniooia>This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
——=_NextPart_000_0006_01C9399D.8F395E00
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset=”Windows-1252″
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bitDear user,
On Wed, 29 Oct 2008 08:08:43 +0100 we received a third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain. Whenever we receive a complaint, we are required by ICANN regulations to initiate an investigation as to whether the contact data displaying in the Whois database is valid data or not. If we find that there is invalid or missing data, we contact both the registrant and the account holder and inform them to update the information.
The contact information for the domain which displayed in the Whois database was indeed invalid. On Wed, 29 Oct 2008 08:08:43 +0100 we sent a notice to you at the admin/tech contact email address and the account email address informing you of invalid data in breach of the domain registration agreement and advising you to update the information or risk cancellation of the domain. The contact information was not updated within the specified period of time and we canceled the domain. The domain has subsequently been purchased by another party. You will need to contact them for any further inquiries regarding the domain.
PLEASE VERIFY YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION – http://www.enom.com.com72.biz
If you find any invalid contact information for this domain, please respond to this email with evidence of the specific contact information you have found to be invalid on the Whois record for the domain name. Examples would be a bounced email or returned postal mail. If you have a bounced email, please attach or forward with your reply or in the case of returned postal mail, scan the returned letter and attach to your email reply or please send it to:
Attn: Domain Services
14455 N Hayden Rd
Suite 219
Scottsdale, AZ 85260LINK TO CHANGE INFORMATION – http://www.enom.com.com72.biz
Thank you,
Domain Services[IncidentID:65619]
Thanks to the following folks for info:
About this entry
You’re currently reading “Enom Phishing Attempt,” an entry on PhilSpace
- Published:
- October 29, 2008 / 6:32 am
- Category:
- content management

No comments yet
Jump to comment form | comment rss [?] | trackback uri [?]